TWD Caramel Crunch Bars

This week’s Tuesday’s with Dorie recipe is Caramel crunch bars. I really love Dories idea of making theses into ice cream sandwiches, but I’ll save that variation for warmer weather. The recipe is pretty easy and straight forward compared the last few weeks. The dough was easy to make, except for the part of the recipe where you add the flour and cover the mixing bowl with a tea towel. Even after my many years of baking I seem to have a lead foot when it comes to the speed control on my mixer……flour everywhere!!!

flour everywhere!!!!

After rescuing what flour I could, I chopped 3oz of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate and realized that my favorite Henkel was in dire need of sharpening!!!

p1010078

p1010080p1010082

The dough was very sticky, but also soft and pliable. I lined a 9×13 pan with non-stick foil and sprayed it with Pam. I always have a problem “spreading evenly” so once the dough was almost filling the pan, I used a straight sided glass to even it out, it worked very good.

p2240084

The recipe calls for sprinkling 6oz of chocolate over the hot crust, but being the rule breaker that I am I used almost 8oz. Here’s a great shot of the melting chocolate!!

p22400851

p2240086 The finished product looks amazing!! In a few hours I will do a little quality control and report back!!!

2 responses to “TWD Caramel Crunch Bars

  1. Oooh, yeah! That is a great shot of the chocolate melting on the crust. Great job!

  2. Wonderful pictures. I loved this recipe.

Leave a Reply

