TWD Chocolate gingerbread cake

So I love ginger!!! Ginger in Chinese food, ginger in chili, gingersnaps; but I’m almost ashamed to say that I’ve never eaten gingerbread. I made this weeks recipe after much hemming and hawing about different types of ginger; as best I could. It calls for three, different ginger preparations. One being fresh ginger, that’s a no-brainer. Second powdered ginger, easy as pie. Thirdly STEM GINGER??? Well there was no stem ginger to be found in my quaint suburb so I opted for “Sugar Ginger” made by a company named Dynasty.

Fresh ginger

Fresh ginger

Curdled loking batter

Curdled loking batter

According to the recipe the batter will look curdled, this is true. It looked so nasty that I thought it wasn’t going to turn out at all.

Adding "Suger Ginger"

Adding "Suger Ginger"

Next time I make this recipe I would double, yes double the “sugar ginger” it added some really nice sweet “crunches” to the cake that I thought were great.

Finished cake and mini cake

Finished cake and mini cake

I had enough batter to fill an 8×8 pan and 2 ramekins. I did make the frosting a little too early and it began to set up way before I needed it. So I decided to frost the cake while it was still warm, this worked alright except the frosting lost it’s nice gloss. Still tasted great though!!

Really bad photo

Really bad photo

6 responses to “TWD Chocolate gingerbread cake

  1. Yum! I’m glad you like this recipe. I loved it!

  2. MMM!!! looks yummy. I liked it too.

  3. Looks good to me! I really was surprised at how much I enjoyed this recipe. Well done!

  4. Crunchy ginger pieces sounds great! Glad you liked this one!

  5. Great job your cake looks perfect!

  6. I have never heard of ginger sugar. Sounds great, so does your gingerbread!

Leave a Reply

