TWD Nail biting, nerve racking Berry Surprise cake

p1200052

Getting started

Due to my crazy schedule at work I can see that I will be a last minute poster. It’s 11:12pm and I still have to frost the cake for my hungry minions at work tomorrow. After reading all t he discouraging posts in the P&Q I was really worried about this recipe. I’m the general manager of five flower shops, getting ready for Valentine’s day and I just couldn’t get this cake out of my mind!!!!! I really wanted it to turn out. So I did a lot of research about genoise, read the recipe four times, measured everything in advance, and I think I got it right!!!!
I started with room temperature eggs and whisked them continuously over simmering water until they were almost hot. Then I pretty much followed the recipe to a T with only minor adjustments.

Eggs after cooking and beating

Eggs after cooking and beating

I then oh so gingerly sifted part of the flour into the egg mixture, then the butter, then said a prayer and the remaining flour.

Shhh be very quiet....don't deflate my batter!!!

Shhh be very quiet....don't deflate my batter!!!

I prepared my pan and also used my magic cake strips. I f haven’t tried theses I highly recommend them. They’re simply a cloth strip that is soaked in cold water and wrapped around the outside of the cake pan and secured with a pin. Apparently it helps to distribute heat evenly and therefore your cake rises evenly as well. I can tell you in this case it worked like a CHARM!!!

I did it I did it!!!! It rose!!!

I did it I did it!!!! It rose!!!

AHHH success, now if I can cut it evenly I’ll be happy.

My nest

My nest

Lucious fruity filling

Lucious fruity filling

Ready to chill before frosting

Ready to chill before frosting

Here is the finished product…keep in mind I’m a florist and a baker, not Ansel Adams!!!
Ta daa!!!

Ta daa!!!

5 responses to “TWD Nail biting, nerve racking Berry Surprise cake

  1. OMG, our cakes could be twins! Good job!!! What an accomplishment.

  2. I meant to add that it was brilliant to use the strips! I have them and did not even think to use them.

  3. I love your instructional step-by-step pictures! Nice tall cake. Hope they enjoy it at work.

  4. Gorgeous! Congratulations!

  5. What a smashing job you did – it looks amazing. I was too chicken to attempt the cake, and went parfait style.

Leave a Reply

